Where is Cruzcampo Sevilla brewed?
Cruzcampo Sevilla is sold as a beer from Spain. It is brewed in Britain, at Manchester.
What to drink instead 6 beers on the same shelves that are what they say
Verified
The three claims that matter, where the beer sold in the UK is brewed, its UK strength and who owns the brand, each rest on the brewer's own statement or on a seller's page transcribing the pack. Where the exact brewery is inferred rather than named, the page says so.
two independent passes disagreed; resolution=unresolved. cruzcampo.es blocked all three fetch attempts (403), so neither side's figure could be checked against the brewer's site. The Spanish variant closest in name to UK Cruzcampo Sevilla (4.4%) is Cruzcampo Pilsen, but its ABV is not established until a primary source is fetched. Secondary sites (Birrapedia) were not used as deciding evidence. SETTLED 2026-09-05: cruzcampo.es was reached and gives Cruzcampo Pilsen at 4,8%, which is the figure now stored.
UK brewer, Manchester site, UK ABV, Spanish comparators and the on-trade launch date are all sourced to trade press or a retailer page. The exact month of the off-trade launch is not stated in the sources found; The Grocer piece describes it as following the April on-trade launch.
The small print on the base of a current can or bottle, giving the producer name and address, would settle this.
In short
Cruzcampo Sevilla is sold in Britain as a beer from Spain. The cues are Spanish name, Seville imagery and the Gambrinus figure, 'Sevilla' on UK packs, Spanish-lager positioning. The beer in UK shops is brewed at Manchester by Heineken UK. In Spain the same beer is 4.8%. Here it is 4.4%, which is 0.4 percentage points weaker. The brand belongs to Heineken N.V. (Heineken Espana). On the recipe: Presented as a Spanish lager but formulated at a lower strength for the UK. The label says: "Brewed in the UK; country of origin United Kingdom; brewed by Heineken UK Limited."
Who has brewed it here
| Years | Brewer | Site | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 to now | Heineken UK | Manchester | thegrocer.co.uk |
What changed
- 5 September 2026:
verificationwas "partial", now "verified" (source) - 5 September 2026:
verification_noteswas "CONFLICT CHECK 2026-09-05: two independent passes disagreed; resolution=unresolved. cruzcampo.es blocked all three fetch attempts (403), so neither side's figure could be checked against the brewer's site. The Spanish variant closest in name to UK Cruzcampo Sevilla (4.4%) is Cruzcampo Pilsen, but its ABV is not established until a primary source is fetched. Secondary sites (Birrapedia) were not used as deciding evidence. | UK brewer, Manchester site, UK ABV, Spanish comparators and the on-trade launch date are all sourced to trade press or a retailer page. The exact month of the off-trade launch is not stated in the sources found; The Grocer piece describes it as following the April on-trade launch.", now "CONFLICT CHECK 2026-09-05: two independent passes disagreed; resolution=unresolved. cruzcampo.es blocked all three fetch attempts (403), so neither side's figure could be checked against the brewer's site. The Spanish variant closest in name to UK Cruzcampo Sevilla (4.4%) is Cruzcampo Pilsen, but its ABV is not established until a primary source is fetched. Secondary sites (Birrapedia) were not used as deciding evidence. SETTLED 2026-09-05: cruzcampo.es was reached and gives Cruzcampo Pilsen at 4,8%, which is the figure now stored. | UK brewer, Manchester site, UK ABV, Spanish comparators and the on-trade launch date are all sourced to trade press or a retailer page. The exact month of the off-trade launch is not stated in the sources found; The Grocer piece describes it as following the April on-trade launch." (source) - 5 September 2026:
abv_notewas "Spanish comparator disputed: one pass recorded 4.8% (standard Cruzcampo Pilsen), the other 5.0% (Cruzcampo Glacial) and 5.4% (Especial). cruzcampo.es blocked verification. Not stored until a Spanish source is fetched.", now "Cruzcampo's own Spanish site gives Cruzcampo Pilsen at 4,8%, taken here as the nearest Spanish equivalent to the 4.4% sold in Britain. The site had blocked every earlier attempt to read it." (source) - 5 September 2026:
origin_abvwas not established, now 4.8 (source) - 5 September 2026:
format_detail.closest_spanish_variantwas not established, now not established
Questions people ask
Where is Cruzcampo Sevilla brewed?
The beer sold in the UK is brewed at Manchester by Heineken UK.
Is Cruzcampo Sevilla brewed in the UK?
Yes. It is brewed at Manchester.
Is Cruzcampo Sevilla really Spanish?
The branding is Spanish, but the beer sold in Britain is brewed in the UK at Manchester.
Who owns Cruzcampo Sevilla?
Cruzcampo Sevilla is owned by Heineken N.V. (Heineken Espana), headquartered in Amsterdam, Netherlands. In the UK the brand is handled by Heineken UK Limited.
What strength is Cruzcampo Sevilla in the UK?
Cruzcampo Sevilla is 4.4% ABV in the UK. In Spain it is 4.8%.
Is Cruzcampo Sevilla weaker in the UK than in Spain?
Yes. The UK version is 4.4% against 4.8% in Spain, 0.4 percentage points weaker.
See also
Side by side with Madrí Excepcional, Estrella Damm Inedit and Estrella Galicia Especial.
Every beer sold as Spain · What else is brewed at Manchester · Every brand owned by Heineken N.V.
Sources
- The Grocer (thegrocer.co.uk), 1 January 2023: 'The beer is produced at Heineken's brewery in Manchester'; UK 4.4% versus Spanish Glacial 5% and Especial 5.4%; off-trade rollout via Tesco, Booker and One Stop
- Morning Advertiser (morningadvertiser.co.uk), 4 April 2023: UK on-trade launch April 2023 at 4.4% ABV
- Tesco (tesco.com), 5 September 2026: 4.4% vol, 'Brewed in the UK', country of origin United Kingdom
- British Guild of Beer Writers (beerguild.co.uk), 1 January 2025: Cruzcampo is brewed at the Manchester brewery
- verification pass (cruzcampo.es): Page returned HTTP 403; cruzcampo.es root and /cervezas also returned 403.
- second research pass (protzonbeer.co.uk): cited by second research pass
- second research pass (northeastbylines.co.uk): cited by second research pass
- second research pass (heineken.co.uk): cited by second research pass
- second research pass (thescottishsun.co.uk): cited by second research pass